Away in the Basement




The CD of the Christmas production was recorded in the Fall of 2009 by five cast members. Unlike the first two productions, this show had two sets of cast members rotating in and out to meet the intensely scheduled calendar of holiday shows. Vocals on the recording are by Greta Grosch, Robbie Mancina, Dorian Chalmers, Tara Borman, and Tim Drake. Drew Jansen, who wrote the music and the lyrics for this show, plays the keyboard on the CD. Other accompanists are Andy Nelson on the sax, Vin Parker playing percussion, and trumpeter Adam Rossmiller. (The other five actors, not heard on this CD, are: Shannon Herman, Judi Gronseth, Roxanne Britz, Andrea Alioto and Greg Eiden.)

Songs on this CD include: Away in the Basement, The Unforgettable Christmas Program of 1958, Everybody is a Kid Again at ChristmasTime, Just Not Mary Material, Always One More thing, I Think You’d Like Her, Pińata, Whatsoever You Doo-Wop, Reindeer Rendezvous, and the world’s best version of “Jeg er så Glad.”

Based on Norwegian-Lutheran humor books written by Janet Letnes Martin and Suzann Nelson
Script by Greta Grosch
Music and Lyrics by Drew Jansen
Directed by Curt Wollan